We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services, process statistical information and analyze browsing habits. If you continue browsing, you ACCEPT THEIR USE. You can also CONFIGURE or REJECT the cookies being installed by clicking on the button "CONFIGURE".


Empirical Microeconomics Workshop (formerly, PEW)

You may subscribe to email notifications of our various seminar series. You also can subscribe to iCalendar versions of our seminar announcements.

First term

27 September 2018:
Maia Güell (University of Edinburg), Income Contingent University Loans: Policy Design and an Application to Spain (joint with Antonio Cabrales, Rocio Madera and Analia Viola).
18 October 2018:
Frederic Robert-Nicoud (University of Geneva), Highways, Market Access, and Spatial Sorting (joint with Stephan Fretz and Raphaël Parchet).
25 October 2018:
Mauricio Drelichman (University of British Columbia in Vancouver), The Long Run Effects of the Spanish Inquisition.
8 November 2018:
Vernon Henderson (LSE), Building the City: Urban Transition and Institutional Frictions (joint with Tanner Regan, and Anthony J. Venables).
15 November 2018:
Pierre-Philippe Combes (CNRS - Universite de Lyon - ENS Lyon), A Random Forest Approach to Mining Historical Maps: Land Use in France from the Mid-18th Century (joint with Marie-Pierre De Bellefon, Gilles Duranton, Laurent Gobillon and Clément Gorin).
29 November 2018:
Laura Hospido (Banco de España), Pollution and Sick Leaves: Evidence from Social Security Data (joint with Felix Holub and Ulrich Wagner).
19 December 2018:
Eduardo Morales (Princeton University), Shift-Share Designs: Theory and Inference (joint with Rodrigo Adão and Michal Kolesár).
20 December 2018:
Kamran Bilir (University of Wisconsin - Madison), Knowledge Diffusion Through Networks (joint with Treb Allen and Chris Tonetti).

Second term

21 March 2019:
Nick Tsivanidis (UC Berkeley and Dartmouth College), TBA.

Third term

4 April 2019:
Janet Currie (Princeton University), TBA.
9 May 2019:
Stephen J. Redding (Princeton), TBA.
16 May 2019:
Giulia Brancaccio (Princeton University), TBA.
6 June 2019:
Magne Mogstad (University of Chicago), TBA.


© CEMFI. All rights reserved.